Julie Thannum, APR, Named 2022 NSPRA Presidents Award Recipient

NSPRA is pleased to announce Julie Thannum, APR, senior strategist at CESO Communications, as the recipient of the 2022 NSPRA Presidents Award. 

The Presidents Award is the highest honor bestowed on an individual by NSPRA. Each year, the award recognizes a living association member for outstanding professionalism and integrity throughout a career as an educational public relations practitioner and for contributing to the advancement of educational PR. In addition, the award also recognizes the recipient’s active involvement and leadership at a national level as well as substantive professional contributions to NSPRA. 

“Julie is a champion of school public relations,” said NSPRA President Nicole Kirby, APR. “It is an honor to recognize her contributions to our profession and to our association. In her commitment to transparency, equity and integrity, she is a model for the rest of us.”

Over the course of her more than 30 years in school communications, Thannum has been recognized with a myriad of awards and distinctions, including the Texas School Public Relations Association’s Most Valuable Member Award in 2018 and NSPRA’s Learning and Liberty Legacy Award in 2018. She’s also served as president of both NSPRA and TSPRA.

“Julie’s unwavering dedication to moving school public relations forward throughout the years has been invaluable to this association and our members,” said NSPRA Executive Director Barbara M. Hunter, APR. “Thousands of NSPRA members have benefited from workshops she’s led, articles she’s written and counsel she’s always generously provided without reserve.” 

Thannum will be honored at the NSPRA 2022 National Seminar during the General Session on Monday, July 18, in Chicago.