Superintendents to Watch

Each year the National School Public Relations Association recognizes up to 25 superintendents as "Superintendents to Watch." Honorees are school district leaders who have fewer than five years of experience as a superintendent and who demonstrate dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at its core. They use communication technology in innovative and effective ways to engage and inform their school communities and to expand two-way communication and outreach efforts.  Nominate your superintendent  by filling out this nomination form

Nominate Your Superintendent

Superintendents to Watch nominees should have:

  • Fewer than five years of cumulative experience as a superintendent at the time of nomination;
  • Implemented a communication program for the district that includes the use of new communication technology as well as more standard communication tools;
  • Integrated communication goals and strategies into the district’s strategic plan; and
  • Active, visible involvement in the district's communication effort (e.g., tweets, blogs, participates in face-to-face engagement activities, responsive to media requests, models good communication for staff).

Nominees do not have to be an NSPRA member.

For the 2019-20 school year, nominations are due by Friday June 19. Selected honorees will be announced in late August 2020.

Nominate your superintendent today. Fill out the nomination form

Recognition and Awards

Selected superintendents will receive a recognition award and an individual profile highlight in an NSPRA e-newsletter. They also will be invited to attend the 2021 NSPRA Seminar in Washington, D.C. at a discounted price.

View a list of past Superintendents to Watch honorees.

For more information about this program, contact Communication Manager, Rebecca Shaw at or 301-519-1221.