NSPRA National School Communication Awards

2020 NSPRA National School Communication AwardsNSPRA's 2021 National School Communication Awards contest is now open. Discover three outstanding ways to earn national recognition for your district and school communication efforts:

  • Gold Medallion Awards are for superior educational public relations programs and campaigns grounded in strategic communication best practices.
  • Publications and Digital Media Excellence Awards are for outstanding work in educational communications, including print and digital publications, video, audio, websites, social media and more.
  • Golden Achievement Awards are for outstanding, strategic work in all aspects of school public relations, communications, marketing and engagement.

Review award criteria, rules and deadlines or download the awards contest brochure (PDF).

In Their Own Words: Value of NSPRA Awards

National School Communication Awards

Gold Medallion Awards  Entry Deadline: March 16, 2020

Publications & Digital Media Awards Entry Deadline: March 30, 2020

Golden Achievement Awards  Entry Deadline: April 13, 2020

Special Recognition Awards

Here are some brief descriptions of NSPRA's  special recognition awards and links to nomination forms and past recipients.

NSPRA Presidents Award

The NSPRA Presidents Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Association.It was established in 1979 to recognize a living individual NSPRA member for outstanding professionalism and integrity throughut a career as a school public relations practitioner and for contributions to the advancement of educational public relations. In addition, it recognizes the member's active involvement and leadership at a national level as well as substantive professional contributions to NSPRA. 

Nominations for the Presidents Award may be submitted by current chapter presidents, all past NSPRA Executive Board members (not serving on the currentl selection committee) and past recipients of the award.

Nomination form and guidelines.  Deadline: February 14

Past recipients.

Barry Gaskins Mentor Legacy Award 

The Barry Gaskins Mentor Legacy Award recognizes a practicing school public relations professional for outstanding efforts in mentoring colleagues new to school PR, providing counsel and advice on job success, and assisting colleagues in their professional development by creating or offering programs and activities designed to improve PR skills and knowledge.

This award is given in memory of Barry Gaskins, APR, an NSPRA past president who was known for his deep commitment to supporting and mentoring colleagues as well as for his passion for public education.

In the spirit of this award, the recipient is allowed to designate a mentee of their choice to receive a scholarship to the NSPRA National Seminar. The funding for this award is provided by the NSPRA Foundation for the Advancement of Education through memorial donations from NSPRA chapters and colleagues.

Award Criteria and Nomination form. Deadline: February 14

Past recipients.

Bob Grossman Leadership in School Communications Award

The Bob Grossman Leadership in School Communications Award is given annually to a practicing superintendent or CEO of a school district, education agency or service center in recognition of outstanding leadership in school public relations and communications. The funding for this award is provided by the NSPRA Foundation for the Advancement of Education through memorial donations from NSPRA chapters and colleagues. The recipient receives a registration to the NSPRA National Seminar and two nights lodging.

This award is given in memory of Robert L. Grossman, ASPR, an NSPRA past president who believed that the support and commitment of our top education leaders is vital to successful school communication.

Award criteria and nomination form.  Deadline: April 1

Past recipients.

Communication Technology Award for Superintendents

The Communication Technology Award for Superintendents recognizes a superintendent of a K-12 school system, intermediate unit, BOCES, or County Education Office for leadership in redefining, upgrading, and integrating cutting-edge communication technology to improve and expand outreach and engagement with education stakeholders — both internal and external.

Award criteria and nomination form. Deadline: Dec. 15, 2017

List of past recipients.

Learning & Liberty Legacy Leader Recognition

The Learning & Liberty Legacy Leader Recognition honors the contributions of NSPRA members who have had a positive impact on their colleagues’ careers and who work tirelessly behind the scenes on behalf of education and improved communication. Nominations may be made with a minimum tax-exempt gift of $75 to the Foundation for the Advancement of Education, which is used to provide scholarships to the NSPRA Seminar and support our Communication Accountability Program (CAP) research. Honorees receive a special certificate and letter of commendation. Their names are permanently listed on the NSPRA website and included in member recognitions at the NSPRA Seminar.

Nomination form. Deadline: June 1

List of honorees.

NSPRA Learning & Liberty Award

The NSPRA Learning & Liberty Award reflects the symbolism of The Education Flag of Learning and Liberty and is given in recognition of outstanding collaborative efforts between schools, business and community, and the home, and to foster respect, understanding and civic cooperation between people of all backgrounds and beliefs. This is a special purpose recognition used to honor individuals deemed to embody the tenets and symbolism of the award and who demonstrate a deep commitment to education and strong support for effective communication and the mission of NSPRA.

Recommendations of deserving candidates are made by NSPRA Executive Board members and NSPRA staff and approved by a majority vote of the NSPRA Executive Board.

List of past recipients.