Please Wait a Moment

NSPRA Presidents Award

Nominations for the 2024 NSPRA Presidents Award are now closed. The 2024 honoree will be announced in May.

The nomination submission portal for the 2025 award will open in January 2025.

Rick Kaufman, APR (left)The NSPRA Presidents Award is the highest honor bestowed by the association. It is given to recognize a (living) individual NSPRA member for outstanding professionalism and integrity throughout a career as an educational public relations practitioner and for contributing to the advancement of educational public relations. In addition, it recognizes the member’s active involvement and leadership at a national level as well as substantive professional contributions to NSPRA.

Eligibility and Nomination Criteria

Eligible nominees must:

  • Hold membership as a professional or professional partner in NSPRA.
  • Be a member of their state/region chapter (unless nominee’s state/region has no chapter).
  • Hold (or have held during their career) a full-time educational PR position (with a district, school, educational agency or association) for a minimum of 10 years.

Current NSPRA Executive Board members and NSPRA staff are ineligible for nomination.

Nominations for the Presidents Award may be submitted only by:

  • Current NSPRA chapter presidents,
  • Any past NSPRA Executive Board member who is not serving on the current selection committee and
  • Past recipients of the award.

Recipient Selection

Up to one Presidents Award winner may be identified each year. A screening committee will review all nominations. Considerations for selection include the nominee’s ability to meet the award criteria, the nominee's past awards and honors, the nominee's contributions to the school public relations profession and to NSPRA, and the nominator's statement as to why the nominee is deserving of the award.

Recognition and Award Presentation

The 2024 Presidents Award winner will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to the NSPRA 2024 National Seminar,
  • A formal presentation of the award during a General Session at the Seminar and
  • One night of lodging, arranged by NSPRA, for the evening before the award presentation. 

View a list of previous award recipients.