Please Wait a Moment


Meet the 2022 NSPRA Superintendents to Watch

Author: NSPRA Staff/Wednesday, December 14, 2022/Categories: News

Superintendents to Watch logoNSPRA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Superintendents to Watch award! From a record number of nomination submissions received this year, 25 superintendents from around the country were selected for the honor in recognition of their innovative and effective use of technology to engage and inform the school community, and to expand two-way communication and outreach efforts.

This annual NSPRA award recognizes up to 25 school district leaders each year who have fewer than five years of experience as a superintendent and who demonstrate dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at its core. Since the 2015-16 school year, NSPRA has recognized 127 school district leaders as Superintendents to Watch.

“This year’s honorees understand just how important effective communication is in building trust and relationships with families, employees, students and community members in their districts,” said NSPRA Executive Director Barbara M. Hunter, APR. “These emerging leaders have proven to be dedicated champions of innovative communication efforts to advance their districts' success.”

Congratulations to this year’s exemplary honorees:

Travis Bracht, Ed.D.
School District
Affton, Mo.

Kristin Brown, Ed.D.
Lyford Consolidated
Independent School District
Lyford, Texas

Sharon Byrdsong, Ed.D.
Public Schools 
 Norfolk, Va. 

Shaun Carey, Ed.D.
Enumclaw School District
Enumclaw, Wash.

Joey Castilleja, Ed.D.
Mabton School District
Mabton, Wash.

Adam Clark, Ed.D.
Mt. Diablo Unified
School District
Concord, Calif.

John Gordon, III, Ed.D.
Suffolk Public Schools
Suffolk, Va.

Guadalupe Guerrero
Portland Public Schools
Portland, Ore.

Peter Hannigan, Ed.D. 
Hawthorn School District 73
Vernon Hills, Ill.

Kevin Hendrick
Public Schools
Largo, Fla.

Eduardo Hernández, Ed.D.
Edgewood Independent
School District
San Antonio, Texas

Lupita Hinojosa, Ed.D.
Spring Independent
School District 
Houston, Texas

Alfonso Jiménez, Ed.D.
Hacienda La Puente
Unified School District
City of Industry, Calif.

Sean Maika, Ed.D.
North East Independent 
School District
San Antonio, Texas

Alex Marrero, Ed.D.
Public Schools
Denver, Colo.

Joshua McDowell, Ed.D.
Crete Public Schools
Crete, Neb.

Rosanna Mucetti, Ed.D.
Napa Valley Unified
School District
Napa, Calif.

Brian Nichols, Ed.D.
New Kent County
Public Schools
New Kent, Va.

Josh Reitz, Ed.D.
School District 15
McHenry, Ill.

Mike Rockwood, Ed.D.
Lake Dallas Independent
School District
Lake Dallas, Texas

Diana Sayavedra
El Paso Independent
School District
El Paso, Texas

Greg Sears
Kings Local School District 
Kings Mills, Ohio

Adam Swinyard, Ed.D.
Spokane Public Schools
Spokane, Wash.

Ameca Thomas, Ph.D.
Laurens School District 55
Laurens, S.C

Benjamin Wiggins, Ed.S. 
Colquitt County School District
Moultrie, Ga.

Each award recipient will be profiled in upcoming issues of NSPRA's monthly Member Memo e-newsletter. Honorees will also be recognized at the NSPRA 2023 National Seminar in St. Louis in July. Congratulations again to this outstanding group of district leaders, and thank you to all who submitted nominations!


Number of views (2440)/Comments (0)