NSPRA Recognizes 12 New APRs in 2020-21

During the NSPRA 2021 National Seminar, 12 association members were recognized for earning their accreditation in public relations between July 2020 - June 2021. The six members present at the Seminar were invited to participate in a pinning ceremony during the Annual Meeting and Celebration of Achievement.  They also were invited to attend a special networking lunch with fellow APRs.

APR is a rigorous, voluntary certification program that demonstrates a mastery of strategic communication practices and a commitment to lifelong learning and ethical standards. Congratulations to the following NSPRA members on earning their APR last year:

  • NSPRA members stand after receiving their APR pinsDerek Duncan, APR, digital communications coordinator, Parkway School District, Chesterfield, Mo.
  • Russ Elek, APR, communications specialist, Burlington School District, Burlington, Vt.
  • Betsy Fuller, APR, (pictured third from left) director, school/community relations, Lakota Local Schools, Liberty Township, Ohio
  • Rachel Hicks, APR, director of communications and public relations, Intermediate District 287, Plymouth, Minn.
  • Monica Lester, APR, communications coordinator, South Glens Falls Central School District, South Glens Falls, N.Y.
  • Melissa Martinez, APR, chief communications officer, El Paso Independent School District, El Paso, Texas
  • Alex Mayster, APR, (pictured far left) director of communications, Evergreen Park School District 124, Evergreen Park, Ill.
  • Holly McCaw, APR, (pictured third from right) director of communications, Otsego Public Schools, Otsego, Mich.
  • Amanda Puleo, APR, (pictured second from left) communication coordinator, ChurchvilleChili Central School District, Churchville, N.Y.
  • Ryan Reyes, APR, external relations officer, Ontario College of Teachers, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, APR, (pictured second from right) director of communications, Oconee County Schools, Watkinsville, Ga.
  • Ashley-Michelle Thublin, APR, (pictured far right) executive director of communications, Asheville City Schools, Asheville, N.C.

Visit NSPRA's Accreditation in Public Relations (APR) webpage to learn more about supports available to members who are interested in pursuing their APR.