Meet the 2021 NSPRA Superintendents to Watch

NSPRA is pleased to announce recipients of the 2021 Superintendents to Watch award! This year, 19 superintendents from around the country were selected for the honor in recognition of their innovative and effective use of technology to engage and inform the school community, and to expand two-way communication and outreach efforts.

This annual NSPRA award recognizes up to 25 school district leaders each year who have fewer than five years of experience as a superintendent and who demonstrate dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at its core. Congratulations to this year’s exemplary honorees:


Krystyna Baumgartner

Dr. Rob Anderson
Boulder Valley School District
Boulder, Colo.




Dr. Jennifer Blaine
Spring Branch Independent School District
Houston, Texas



Julia Burgos

Dr. Yolanda Cargile
Center School District #58
Kansas City, Mo.




Ryan Carpenter
Estacada School District
Estacada, Ore.




Dr. Benjamin Churchill
Carlsbad Unified School District
Carlsbad, Calif.




Dr. Andi Fourlis
Mesa Public Schools
Mesa, Ariz.




Dr. Ronald Scott Fritz
Volusia County Schools
DeLand, Fla.




Dr. Trevor Greene
Yakima School District
Yakima, Wash.



LevettJeff Horton
GFW School District
Gibbon, Minn.



LevettDr. Ann Levett
Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools
Savannah, Ga.



mOOREDr. David Moore
School District of Indian River County
Vero Beach, Fla. 



mOOREDr. David Perry
South Colonie Central School District 
Albany, N.Y.



rAYDr. Joris M. Ray
Shelby County Schools
Memphis, Tenn.



SlagleDr. Michael Slagle
Raymore-Peculiar School District
Peculiar, Mo.



TerryDr. Justin Terry
Forney Independent School District
Forney, Texas



wARNOCKDr. Georgeanne Warnock
Terrell Independent School District
Terrell, Texas



Krystyna BaumgartnerDr. Avis Williams
Selma City Schools
Selma, Ala.



WrightJeff Wright
Sauk Prairie School District
Prairie du Sac, Wis.



Julia BurgosDr. Scott Wyndham
Avon Community School Corporation
Avon, Ind.



Each award recipient will be profiled in upcoming issues of the monthly Member Memo e-newsletter. Honorees will also be recognized at the NSPRA 2022 National Seminar in Chicago in July. Congratulations again to this outstanding group of district leaders, and thank you to all who submitted nominations!