NSPRA Presidents Award 2010 Recipient

The NSPRA Presidents Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Association. It is given to recognize a (living) individual NSPRA member for outstanding professionalism and integrity throughout a career as an educational public relations practitioner and for contributing to the advancement of educational public relations. In addition, it recognizes the member’s active involvement and leadership at a national-level as well as substantive professional contributions to NSPRA. 

2010 NSPRA Presidents Award Recipient

Nora Carr

Nora Carr, APR
Chief of Staff, Guilford County Schools, Greenboro, N.C.

Over the course of her career, Nora Carr has distinguished herself not only as one of the nation's top school PR practitioners, but also as one of the leading experts in urban school system public relations. As chief of staff for Guilford County Schools (GCS), she serves on the executive team that oversees district operations and also leads the district relations division, which manages internal and external communications, business partnerships, fund development and grants, marketing, branding, policy development, the GCS cable channel and web site, and governmental relations and public affairs.

Nora writes regular colums for eSchool News and the American School Board Journal and makes frequent contributions to NSPRA's publications and web site. She is in demand as a speaker and workshop presenter, consults with districts seeking her advice and offers strategic support to colleagues around the country. As an "early adopter" of communication technology, Nora has become a "go to" resource for using e-communication strategies in schools. She is also one of the top school crises managers in the nation.

After taking a break from education to become senior vice president and director of public relations for Luquire, George, Andrews agency in Charlotte, N.C., she returned to school PR where her continuing contribution to the public relations profession in general, and school public relations specifically, is significant and far-reaching. As one colleague put it, "If we were looking to clone someone as the model school public relations professional, Nora Carr would be the mold from which to start."

Complete list of previous award recipients
Nominations: Only current presidents of duly chartered NSPRA chapters; past NSPRA Executive Board members; and past Presidents Award recipients may submit nominations.

Presidents Award Guidelines and Nomination Form