Register Now to Join NSPRA’s New APR Cohort

Earning your accreditation in public relations (APR) is easier with a network of support! To help members build that network nationally, NSPRA is launching its first virtual, free APR Cohort in April in honor of national APR Month. 

Help to Start Your APR Journey

The new APR Cohort is a 12-week program running from April 27-July 6. While it is open to all NSPRA members as a free member benefit, the cohort program is designed specifically for those who are serious about earning accreditation but who aren’t sure how or when to start. NSPRA is committed to supporting aspiring APRs, so it is offering this cohort as a free support service for members. It will complement, but not replace other, more intensive APR preparation courses and workshops.

Participants in the cohort can expect the following outcomes:

  • Develop a personal APR timeline.
  • Develop a basic understanding of the four-step strategic PR planning process: research, planning, implementation and evaluation (RPIE). 
  • Begin to work on the Candidate Questionnaire.
  • Identify a campaign idea for the Panel Presentation.
  • Develop a national network of APR study buddies!

Watch a video from President Lesley Bruinton, APR, where she shares the NSPRA Executive Board’s vision for the new APR Cohort.

Self-Paced Learning, Live Networking Opportunities

Cohort participants will receive access to online learning materials they can review at any time. Once every two weeks, they will meet virtually to learn about the accreditation process from NSPRA Accreditation Committee members, to build their professional network and to discuss ideas and challenges. Virtual live meetings will be held every other Tuesday, starting on April 27, via Zoom at 3 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. MT, noon PT. 

Cohort participants who attend the NSPRA 2021 National Seminar in New Orleans, Louisiana, also will be recognized during the Annual Meeting and Celebration of Achievement on Sunday, July 11, at 1 p.m.

Registration Opens in April

This first APR Cohort has a maximum capacity of 50 participants, but NSPRA anticipates opening a second 12-week cohort in September 2021 and a third 12-week cohort in January 2022.

Registration for the April cohort is now closed. It was available on a first-come, first-served basis, and registration has now exceeded capacity. After the first 50 participants signed up, the additional registrants were added to a waitlist and will be considered first for participation in future cohorts based on the order in which they signed up. Everyone who signed up for the April 2021 cohort will be notified of their status by Friday, April 23.