Meet the Superintendents to Watch for 2018-19

NSPRA Superintendents to Watch Logo

NSPRA is pleased to announce the 2018-19 Superintendents to Watch. These 14 district leaders were selected for their use of communication technology in innovative and effective ways. They engage and inform their school communities with new communication technology tools combined with tried-and-true techniques.  

The following honorees have fewer than five years of experience as a superintendent and possess dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at its core:

  • Scott Bailey, Desert Sands Unified School District (La Quinta, Calif.) 

  • Christi Barrett, Hemet Unified School District (Hemet, Calif.) 

  • Peter Blake, Rome City School District (Rome, N.Y.) 

  • Dr. Daniel Clemens, North Kansas City Public Schools (Kansas City, Mo.)

  • Jonathan Davis , Circleville City School District (Circleville, Ohio)

  • Dr. Sean Doherty, School District of Clayton (St. Louis, Mo.) 

  • Dr. Karen Gaborik, Fairbanks North Star Borough School District (Fairbanks, Alaska)

  • Dr. Andrew Houlihan, Union County Public Schools (Monroe, N.C.) 

  • Dr. Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed, Hopkins Public Schools (Hopkins, Minn.)

  • Dr. Cynthia Seniuk, North Merrick School District (North Merrick, N.Y.)

  • Louis Taylor, Worcester County Public Schools (Newark, Md.) 

  • Dr. Matt Teeter, Willard Public Schools (Willard, Mo.) 

  • Dr. Mary Templeton, Washougal School District (Washougal, Wash.)

  • Dr. Alicia Thompson, Wichita Public Schools USD 259 (Wichita, Kan.)

NSPRA will highlight each Superintendent to Watch in NSPRA This Week in the upcoming months. Honorees will receive a recognition certificate and special discount to the 2019 Seminar in Washington, D.C. 

Congratulations to this outstanding group of district leaders, and thank you for everyone who took the time to send a nomination. 

For more about this program, click here