NSPRA Insight Feb. 19: Managing National Media Coverage When Making History

When Sarah Fuller became the first woman to play in a Power Five football game last November, the Vanderbilt University senior and 2017 alumna of Wylie (Texas) Independent School District became a national media sensation. Gaining national attention, whether for good news or bad, can be unfamiliar territory for the average school public relations professional.  Available exclusively for NSPRA members, the next NSPRA Insight will feature PR pros from WISD and VU in a panel discussion on "Managing National Media Coverage When Making History" on Friday, Feb. 19, at 1 p.m. ET (noon CT, 11 a.m. MT, 10 a.m. PT).  

Ian Halperin, the WISD executive director of communications and community relations, and Sarah Fetters, director of football communications for Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn., will join NSPRA President Lesley Bruinton, APR, and Executive Director Barbara Hunter, APR, for a lively discussion of Fuller's success and its impact on her educational institutions. The panelists will talk about what went into gaining, managing and growing media coverage; the challenges of prioritizing between media outlets; and steps necessary to ensure accuracy and consistency in the coverage. They'll also reflect on how capitalizing on a student's notable accomplishments can benefit educational institutions. 

NSPRA Insight is a free, members-only professional development program featuring virtual panel discussions by leading school communication professionals on topics of interest to school communicators. NSPRA members, learn more and find out how to register for this free webinar.