NSPRA is pleased to announce its fifth class of 35 Under 35. This group of emerging leaders is proving that strategic communication is timeless, extending easily to our next generation of school public relations professionals.  This award is sponsored by #SocialSchool4EDU



The Executive Board of the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA) is thrilled to announce the hiring of Barbara Hunter, APR, as NSPRA’s next executive director. Hunter (pictured), a long-time NSPRA member and strategic communications leader, will take over the reins of the association from Executive Director Rich Bagin, APR, who is retiring Feb. 28, 2021, after a distinguished 32-year NSPRA career.   



The NSPRA Executive Board will welcome five new officers following the close of annual elections on Sept. 4, 2020. New officers formally take office each year on October 1.

Congratulations to the five new NSPRA officers in 2020-21:



Through the Learning & Liberty Legacy Leaders recognition, NSPRA members and chapters can recognize association members for their positive impact on colleagues’ careers and tireless work behind the scenes on behalf of education and improved communication.

Two exceptional leaders were selected as Learning & Liberty Legacy Leaders in 2020: 



NSPRA is pleased to announce the 2020 Superintendents to Watch. These 24 district leaders were selected for their use of communication technology in innovative and effective ways. They engage and inform their school communities with new communication technology tools combined with tried-and-true techniques.



Five current members of the NSPRA Executive Board will reach the end of their terms of office in September 2020.  The association and its members have all benefited from the leadership and countless hours of service volunteered by:  Kelly Avants, APR,  president for 2019-2020; Heidi Otero, vice president for diversity engagement for 2017-2020; Cathy Kedjidjian, APR, vice president at large for communication tec



The NSPRA Executive Board held its regular summer meeting virtually this year on Friday, Aug. 28. During that meeting, the Executive Board affirmed three new officers elect of the board. All new officers for 2020-21 will take office on Thursday, Oct. 1.

Congratulations to the following new officers-elect:

Tracy Jentz, APR

North Central Region Vice President



NSPRA is governed by an Executive Board comprised of 12 officers: a president, president-elect, vice president for diversity engagement, seven regional vice presidents and two appointed vice presidents at-large. The annual election of officers is conducted in August, and this year, there is a contested election only for the office of president-elect. From Aug. 14–Sept. 4, 2020, professional-level members of NSPRA as of Friday, Aug. 14, will have the opportunity to cast a vote on the president-elect candidates via digital ballot.



The impending retirement of Executive Director Rich Bagin, APR, has created an opportunity for a highly experienced, strategic leader in the field of nonprofits and public relations. Job requirements include 10 years of leadership experience, and a strong record of financial and business management. Review the complete job description



At NSPRA, it’s tradition to celebrate leading school communicators every July. This year was no different as NSPRA virtually recognized the many accomplishments of school public relations in 2019-20. Many school PR pros joined the honorees and NSPRA on social media during the two live video premieres this month.

Visit the social media links below to rewatch the celebratory videos.

2020 NSPRA Member and Chapter Honors (premiere #1)

When: Wednesday, July 8, at 3 p.m. EDT (2 p.m. CDT, 1 P.M. MDT, Noon PDT)