2020 Communication Technology Award for Superintendents Recipient

2020 Communication Technology Award for Superintendents Recipient

Dr. Kenny Rodrequez
Grandview (Mo.) C-4 School District

The Grandview C-4 School District community was once known as Kansas City’s “best kept secret,” but that started to change with the 2016 arrival of a new superintendent: Dr. Kenny Rodrequez.  When Dr. Rodrequez started his superintendency, he focused on enhancing communication efforts through a variety of communication tactics to elevate the profile of Grandview C-4. Communication technology was essential in his effort to better tell the district’s story.

One example of his strategic use of communication technology is the #WeAreGrandview campaign. It encourages the community to engage in positive social media conversations about what it means to be a part of the Grandview community and its school district. The campaign was launched as a collaborative effort with the City of Grandview and the Grandview Chamber of Commerce.

Dr. Rodrequez also initiated a staff recognition program titled “Above and Beyond,” which highlights staff who are going the extra mile for students. The program is broadcast on Facebook Live to increase online engagement with positive messages about Grandview C-4 staff.

In addition, Dr. Rodrequez promotes two-way communication through events such as “Coffee with the Superintendent,” which occurs three times a year to strengthen relationships with parents and other stakeholders in the district. At each event, Dr. Rodrequez updates the community on what is taking place in Grandview C-4 and answers questions or concerns from attendees.

Technology serves as a medium to highlight these district initiatives, but Rodrequez’s understanding of relationships, trust and transparency is at the heart of the district’s successful communications program.

NSPRA and Blackboard are proud to recognize Grandview (Mo.) C-4 School District Superintendent Dr. Kenny Rodrequez with the 2020 Communication Technology Award for Superintendents.