2019 NSPRA Executive Board Candidates Announced

NSPRA is governed by an Executive Board comprised of 12 elected officers: a president, president-elect, vice president for diversity engagement, seven regional vice presidents and two appointed vice presidents at-large. The annual election of officers is conducted in August unless a race is uncontested. In the event of an uncontested race, NSPRA Bylaws allow the Executive Board to affirm candidates by acclamation.

During the Annual Meeting/Celebration of Achievement at the NSPRA 2019 National Seminar on Sunday, July 14, the Executive Board will affirm the following approved, uncontested candidates by acclamation as officers-elect of the board: 

  • Candidate for President-elect: Lesley Bruinton, APR, Public Relations Coordinator, Tuscaloosa City (Ala.) Schools
  • Candidate for Mideast Region Vice PresidentPatrick Gallaway, Communications Director, New Albany-Plain (Ohio) Local Schools
  • Candidate for Southwest Region Vice President: Joe Ferdani, APR, Chief Communications Officer, Adams 12 (Colo.) Five Star Schools

There is a contested election only in the Northeast Region, so voting members in that region will receive instructions for electronic balloting in August. Following are the two candidates running for the office:

  • Candidates for Northeast Region Vice President:
    • Angela Marshall, Public Information Officer, Nassau (N.Y.) BOCES
    • Jessica Scheckton, Assistant Director of Communications and Public Relations, Capital Region (N.Y.) BOCES

Newly elected officers take office each year on Oct. 1. The president serves one year in office, and the president-elect serves one year in office before assuming the presidency. Regional vice presidents and the vice president for diversity engagement each serve a three-year term, while vice presidents at large each serve a two-year term.

Click on the names above of the 2019 Executive Board candidates to read what they have shared about their professional backgrounds and thoughts on school public relations.